Max Anstie places third overall at MGXP of the Netherlands

Husqvarna Factory Rockstar Energy Team

September 11th, 2017

Max Anstie  - Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing
Max Nagl  - Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing


Demonstrating his sand racing prowess, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Anstie wrapped up the penultimate round of the 2017 FIM Motocross World Championship in style, claiming third overall at the MXGP of The Netherlands. Collecting 38 valuable points the MXGP class rookie has moved inside the top 10 in the provisional MXGP World Championship standings.

Taking place at the man-made Assen circuit, the MXGP of The Netherlands proved to be physically demanding for all competitors. Showing his fighting spirit Anstie battled his way forward from two mediocre starts and kept charging until the finish of each moto. Making a last lap pass on Romain Febvre for third in the opening moto, Anstie collected a fourth-place result in moto two for third overall at the GP. The young Brit is now 10th in the MXGP World Championship standings.

One of the fastest riders circulating the sandy Assen track in both motos, Max Nagl placed fifth overall at the Dutch GP. Battling through a first lap crash to get 10th in moto one, the German got an impressive holeshot to secure the runner-up spot in the final moto. Moving up a spot in the championship standings, Nagl is now placed seventh with one round to go.

Securing a pair of eighth place results, Gautier Paulin wrapped up the penultimate round of the series with seventh overall at the Dutch GP. Remaining third in the class’ provisional points standings, the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing rider is looking forward to his home GP next weekend in France.

Max Anstie:“I felt strong all weekend. The track was rough and the final motos felt more like we were at a beach race. With all that rain on Saturday, organisers had to work really hard to prepare the track for Sunday’s motos. I had some good battles in both motos and I’m happy the speed was there and I could make some good passes. In the first moto I came from eighth in the first turn to cross the line in third. Then in the second race I started inside the top 10 again and gradually found my way up to fourth. I feel that we’ve been making some good progress during the last few GPs and it’s nice to be on the box for the second time this season. We’ve all been working really hard so this podium result is good for me and for the whole Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing team.”

Max Nagl:“I’m really happy with my performance this weekend. The track was rough and the rain on Saturday made it even tougher. My speed was good in both motos and I felt that I could have earned a spot on the podium. In the opening moto my start was good and I was racing inside the top six but I crashed in the opening lap. I got up and started pushing to finally cross the line in 10th position. Then in moto two we decided with my team to select the far outside gate and that proved to be a very good idea. I got the holeshot and found myself leading for the first couple of laps. When Herlings passed me I tried to stay behind him looking for some better lines. Then I pushed hard until the end and managed to get a strong runner-up in moto two. My bike was running great in these tough conditions. We now have on GP to end this season and I can’t wait for it.”

Results – FIM Motocross World Championship, Round 18

MXGP - Overall
1. Jeffrey Herlngs (KTM) 50pts; 2. Romain Febvre (Yamaha) 38;3. Max Anstie (Husqvarna) 38… 5. Max Nagl (Husqvarna) 33… 7. Gautier Paulin (Husqvarna) 26; 8. Tanel Leok (Husqvarna) 24… 11. Harri Kullas (Husqvarna) 19… 16. Rui Goncalves (Husqvarna) 11… 21. Sven Van der Mierden (Husqvarna) 4; 22. Jernej Irt (Husqvarna) 1

MXGP - Race 1
1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM) 20 laps, 34:21.318; 2. Antonio Cairoli (KTM) 34:22.328;3. Max Anstie (Husqvarna) 35:32.330… 8. Gautier Paulin (Husqvarna) 36:10.591; 9. Tanel Leok (Husqvarna) 19 laps, 34:28.272; 10. Max Nagl (Husqvarna) 34:29.240… 13. Harri Kullas (Husqvarna) 34:37.647… 15. Rui Goncalves (Husqvarna) 35:02.983… 18. Sven Van der Mierden (Husqvarna) 35:29.953… 20. Jernej Irt (Husqvarna) 18 laps, 34:47.017

MXGP - Race 2
1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM) 20 laps, 34:14.288;2. Max Nagl (Husqvarna) 34:48.757; 3. Romain Febvre (Yamaha) 34:51.574;4. Max Anstie (Husqvarna) 34:56.666… 8. Gautier Paulin (Husqvarna) 35:31.461; 9. Tanel Leok (Husqvarna) 35:53.445; 10. Harri Kullas (Husqvarna) 35:53.603… 16. Rui Goncalves (Husqvarna) 19 laps, 35:07.781… 20. Sven Van der Mierden (Husqvarna) 35:32.834… 25. Jernej Irt (Husqvarna) 11 laps, 21:48.035

MX2 - Overall
1. Jorge Prado (KTM) 47pts; 2. Pauls Jonass (KTM) 39; 3. Jeremy Seewer (Suzuki) 38…5. Thomas Kjer-Olsen (Husqvarna) 33… 7. Thomas Covington (Husqvarna) 28… 10. Conrad Mewse (Husqvarna) 24… 15. Henry Jacobi (Husqvarna) 10… 17. Lars van Berkel (Husqvarna) 8

MX2 - Race 1
1. Pauls Jonass (KTM) 20 laps, 34:39.137; 2. Jorge Prado (KTM) 34:40.044;3. Thomas Covington (Husqvarna) 34:52.292… 6. Conrad Mewse (Husqvarna) 35:08.618… 8. Thomas Kjer-Olsen (Husqvarna) 35:13.801… 16. Henry Jacobi (Husqvarna) 36:02.574; 17. Lars van Berkel (Husqvarna) 36:21.918

MX2 - Race 2
1. Jorge Prado (KTM) 20 laps, 34:37.805; 2. Jeremy Seewer (Suzuki) 34:39.133;3. Thomas Kjer-Olsen (Husqvarna) 34:54.415… 12. Conrad Mewse (Husqvarna) 35:30.215; 13. Thomas Covington (Husqvarna) 35:35.114… 16. Henry Jacobi (Husqvarna) 36:01.910; 17. Lars van Berkel (Husqvarna) 36:06.722

Championship Standings (After Round 18)

1. Antonio Cairoli (KTM) 710pts; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM) 627;3. Gautier Paulin (Husqvarna) 571… 7. Max Nagl (Husqvarna) 423… 10. Max Anstie (Husqvarna) 396… 14. Tanel Leok (Husqvarna) 208… 18. Rui Goncalves (Husqvarna) 129… 23. Harri Kullas (Husqvarna) 59… 35. Evgeny Mikhaylov (Husqvarna) 10… 40. Yentel Martens (Husqvarna) 6… 42. Jernej Irt (Husqvarna) 6; 43.. Sven Van der Mierden (Husqvarna) 6

1. Pauls Jonass (KTM) 735pts; 2. Jeremy Seewer (Suzuki) 694;3. Thomas Kjer-Olsen (Husqvarna) 556… 5. Thomas Covington (Husqvarna) 485… 15. Conrad Mewse (Husqvarna) 216; 20. Iker Larranaga (Husqvarna) 105; 21. Henry Jacobi (Husqvarna) 101; 22. Brian Hsu (Husqvarna) 97… 30. Lars van Berkel (Husqvarna) 50… 36. Giuseppe Tropepe (Husqvarna) 30… 41. Caleb Ward (Husqvarna) 14; 42. Karel Kutsar (Husqvarna) 14… 57. Austin Root (Husqvarna) 2… 59. Ivan Petrov (Husqvarna) 1… 63. Aaron Tanti (Husqvarna) 1


Husqvarna Factory Rockstar Energy Team

Husqvarna Factory Rockstar Energy Team